Silence

 

Through the mist of the night, a feeling creeps up through my bones.

A feeling so strong,taking over my body.

A quiver of desperation strikes.

The pain I once had has become alive again, back with a raging force.

Like a snake, slowly making its way, lingering under my feet.

The smell of my body entices it.

Slowly, it swirls through my toes, up my leg, capturing every scent my body has to offer.

It pauses, rests its head on my chest, listening to my beating heart which was quickly growing faster, stronger.

The look in its eyes assures me that it will soon be over.

As it made its way to my neck, a slow, painful feeling hit my entire body.

It immediately goes warm.

The blood rushes to my head, filling it with its last few memories.

The thought of you makes its way to me.

What was once my happiness has become my downfall.

The pain slowly goes away, as a smile sneaks its way across my face.

A quiet “thank you” was uttered as the snake slithered away.

The night was silent again.

Leave a Reply

